



## UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY HIGH-LEVEL MEETING ON IMPROVING GLOBAL ROAD SAFETY

30 June – 1 July 2022, United Nations Headquarters

**Updated Programme** 

Thursday, 30 June 2022		
10:00 - 10:30	<ul> <li>Opening Segment</li> <li>Statements by:</li> <li>H.E. Mr. Abdulla Shahid, President of the General Assembly</li> <li>H.E. António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations</li> <li>Mr. Stewart Simonson, Assistant Director General and WHO Director General's Special Representative for UN Reform, on behalf of WHO DG</li> <li>Mr. Jean Todt, United Nations Secretary-General's Special Envoy for Road Safety</li> </ul>	
10:30 - 10:50	<b>Adoption of the Political Declaration</b> , submitted by the President of the General Assembly pursuant to GA resolution 75/308	
10:50 - 13:00	Plenary Segment	
Break		
15:00 - 18:00	Plenary Segment (continued)	

Friday, 1 July 2022		
10:00 - 11:30	<b>Multi-stakeholder panel 1</b> : Incorporating road safety into sustainable development: political will and whole-of-government approach	
	<ul> <li><i>Co-Chairs:</i></li> <li>H.E. Ms. Zsuzsanna Horváth, Permanent Representative of Hungary to the United Nations</li> <li>H.E. Mr. Gbolié Désiré Wulfran Ipo, Deputy Permanent Representative of Cote d'Ivoire to the United Nations</li> <li><i>Keynote speaker:</i></li> </ul>	
	• H.E. Mr. Audley Shaw, Minister of Transport, Jamaica	

	<ul> <li><u>Panelists:</u></li> <li>H.E. Mr. Wee Ka Siong, Minister of Transport, Malaysia</li> <li>Mr. Erias Lukwago Ssalongo, Mayor of Kampala, Uganda</li> <li>H.E. M.P. Juan José Matarí Sáez, Chairman of the Road Safety Commission of the Congress of Deputies, Spain</li> <li>Mr. Stewart Simonson, WHO Assistant Director General and Director General's Special Representative for UN Reform</li> <li>Followed by question-and-answer session<sup>1</sup></li> </ul>	
11:30 - 13:00	<b>Multi-stakeholder panel 2:</b> Mobilizing all stakeholders to accelerate the implementation of the Global Plan and achieve the 50% reduction	
	<ul> <li><i>Co-Chairs:</i></li> <li>H.E. Mr. Tomas Eneroth, Minister of Infrastructure, Sweden</li> <li>Mr. Benaceur Boulaajoul, the Director-General of the National Road Safety Agency (NARSA), Morocco</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li><i>Keynote speaker:</i></li> <li>Ms. Rochelle Sobel, President of the Association for Safe International Road Travel (ASIRT)</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li><i>Panelists:</i></li> <li>H.E. Mr. Moctar Ahmed Yedali, Minister of Equipment and Transport, Mauritania</li> </ul>	
	<ul> <li>Mr. Saul Billingsley, Executive Director of the FIA Foundation</li> <li>Ms. Fernanda Rodriguez, President of the Foundation Gonzalo Rodriguez</li> </ul>	
	• Ms. Estiara Ellizar, Member of the Youth Leadership Board at Global Youth Coalition for Road Safety	
	Followed by question-and-answer session <sup>1</sup>	
Break		

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Since there is no pre-established list of speakers for the panels, delegates are invited to press the microphone button in front of them to request the floor.

15:00 - 16:30	<ul> <li>Multi-stakeholder panel 3: Sustained domestic investments and international financing for capacity-building and development assistance in evidence-based road safety interventions</li> <li>Chair: <ul> <li>H.E. Mr. Saul Castelar, Vice Minister of Transport, El Salvador</li> </ul> </li> <li>Keynote speaker: <ul> <li>H.E. Mr. Francois Bausch, Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Defence and Minister for Mobility and Public Works, Luxembourg</li> </ul> </li> <li>Panelists: <ul> <li>Mr. Thoerno Demba Sow, Chief of Affairs, Ministry of Infrastructures and Ground Transport, Senegal</li> <li>Ms. Olga Algayerova, Executive Secretary, UN Economic Commission for Europe</li> <li>Ms. Ylva Wessen, President &amp; CEO, Folksam Group</li> <li>Ms. Claudia Adriazola-Steil, Acting Director, Urban Mobility, and Director, Health &amp; Road Safety, WRI Ross Center for Sustainable Cities</li> </ul> </li> </ul>
16:30 - 17:30	Plenary Segment (continued)
17:30 - 18:00	<ul> <li>Closing Segment</li> <li>Presentation of summaries of Multi-stakeholder Panels:</li> <li>Mr. Etienne Krug, Director, Department of Social Determinants of Health, WHO</li> <li>Closing Remarks:</li> <li>H.E. Mr. Abdulla Shahid, President of the General Assembly.</li> </ul>

\*\*\*\*